UR W.O.D. Today: Break a Sweat and Be Happy

Yesterday was the Fourth of July and I tackled the following explosive workout at my local gym. Blasting the “New Orleans Bounce” station on my Pandora app, I was ready for the pain (and the gain) that I knew would be in store. And although up until my workout, my day was…well…meh, as soon as I was finished breaking a sweat, pumped up on the neurotransmitter dopamine (the brain’s natural happy chemical), I was ready to take on the world and happier than a hog in mud.

What I’ve realized is that physical exercise makes me a happier person. Feeling down? Exercise and see if that helps lift your spirits. Bored? Go take a walk and see if that sparks your creativity. Now, there are numerous studies out there that suggest that dopamine naturally decreases in our brains as we age. The best way to restore our “happy chemical” is to do something physical. So, don’t be like the rest of America, dwindling in general happiness levels . Instead, find yourself a gym or workout space and start burning calories.

Well, there you have it, kiddos! Want to be happy? Go break a sweat!

Warm-Up:

  • 30 squats
  • 30 leg swings (15 on each side)
  • 30 jumping jacks

Main Set: (perform set 1-5 times)

  • 5 minute cycle with medium-high resistance
  • 15 kettle bell swings
  • 15 lateral walks with resistance bands
  • 15 hanging leg raise
  • 10- 15 second raised leg hold

Cool Down/Stretch:

  • 1 minute walk
  • static stretch
Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

